A Little Cornwall

I just came back from a little trip to the east, to a city called Gaziantep. There was actually a little conference there, but what I remember is eating nonstop. I don’t think I’ll be able to eat anything resembling baklava or meat anytime soon. That is why I couldn’t write for the last few days, and why I am writing about Rosamunde Pilcher today. I was searching for a handy paperback to read on the way, and Under Gemini by Rosamunde Pilcher was what laid around.book

I was on a cruise, Costa it was, which visited Stockholm, St. Petersburg, Helsinki and Talinn. And since the cruise sails for whole days in between, I needed something to do. I am not good with gambling: I have an addictive personality. And there is a limit to how much a person can eat, even if that person is located in a cruise. So I went to the library, which consisted of two shelves of books, and I picked up The End of Summer by Rosamunde Pilcher. I finished it in a day, and later read other small stuff, but I realized I quite liked this Rosamunde Pilcher. So when the ship reached the shore, I went to the bookstore and picked up a few of her books. Then, to my luck, I found bunch of her stuff in second hand bookstores in Istanbul. So I have most of her stuff. So far, I have read The Day of the Storm, The Empty House, The Carousel, and now Under Gemini

The plots of the books are different, to some extent. Each one of them is about a young woman, who, for some reason or another, some to Cornwall, except for Under Gemini, which was somewhere in Scotland, but the description really reminded me of Cornwall. The plots are simple, about everyday  life. There is always a big family, and a very nice house with a long history. There aren’t really “bad” people, only people with different agendas. There is a man, usually with a big age difference. They usually wait until the very end to get together. They wake up, eat delicious meals with the family and take walks in the gorgeous beaches. Or they drive down to the small city center to shop at the fish store or something relaxed like that. 

I don’t know why I like these books, but their serene environment relaxes me. Nothing outrageous happens, it’s usually pretty predictable, but you can be sure that it will have a happy ending. The characters are usually women at crossroads, and the men are really good people with solid backgrounds. They live in houses with personality which overlook the beaches of Cornwall and they get wet in the rain all the time. There is usually a secret to be discovered, usually related to the family’s past. There is usually a side character, a man, which the heroine decides she doesn’t want, mainly because he has his own agenda.

I read about the author’s life a little bit, and to my surprise, she was born in Cornwall. Like the books, she belongs to another generation, though they still make sense. Her more famous books are Coming Home and September, which are a lot thicker, thus waiting for me to read them.

. I guess I like them because I’ve always been a person who’d love to live in a small town, of course within 50 km radius of the big city and definitely not in Turkey. And the ladies here just leave the big city for the small town life. Though I don’t think I’d live London. Anyways.I guess I can say that if you, too, need a paperback for the weekend, this is the way to go. At least you won’t be kept awake until 2 AM because you’re so curious what happens

Just a few pics of Cornwall. Just to make you wish you were there. Click here for more on Rosamunde Pilcher.

take me heresplash splash

Leave a Reply

